Radius: Off
km Set radius for geolocation
Zilla Panchayat Raichur

Zilla Panchayat or Zilla Parishad is an apex body at district level in Panchayat Raj Institutions. The Chief Executive Officer is the Administrative Head of the Zilla Panchat. He is appointed by the state Government. He is assisted by following Senior officers in the Zilla Panchayat to look after different sections.

Deputy Secreteries: i)Development section and ii) Administration section

Chief accounts Officer: Accounts Section

Chief Planning Officer: Planning Officer

Project Director: DRDA

Political Structure

Raichur Zilla Panchat is an elected body consisting of

  • 35 members directly elected from the people from geographically demarcated constituencies from within the rural areas of the district
  • All the members of Parliament of the district (2)
  • All the Members of State Legislative Assembly of the district(7)
  • Members of State Legislative Council of the district(3)
  • Presidents of Taluk Panchayats in the district(5)

President(Adhyaksha) is elected from the directly elected members of the Zilla Panchayat and he is the executive head of the Zilla Panchayat and chairs all the meetings of the Zilla Panchayat.

Vice President(Upadhyaksh) is also elected  from the directly elected members of the Zilla Panchayat and he is deputy to president.

Standing Committee: For smooth functioning of the Zilla Panchayat, five standing committees have been formed. Each standing committee consists of Zilla Panchayat members not exceeding seven including Chairman, who are elected by the Zilla Panchayat from among the elected members.

The term of office of the President, Vice President and all the five standing committees is 20 months. The term of elected members is five years.

Taluk Panchayats  and  Gram Panchayats

Panchayat Raj Act.1993 provides a 3-tier structure of panchayats

Zilla Panchayat at District level

Taluk Panchayat  at taluk level and

Gram Panchayat at village level

Normally Gram Panchayats have jurisdiction over a group of notified villages.

Members of Taluk Panchayat and Gram Panchayats are directly elected from the people. Presidents and Vice Presidents of Taluk Panchayats  and Gram Panchayats  are elected from the directly elected members of the taluk Panchayat and Gram Panchayat respectively.

Opening Hours















Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked